Public Service Information


ADEM Burn Ban

Summer Burning Restrictions (Issued by Alabama Department of Environmental Management)


Under ADEM regulations, non-agricultural burns are not allowed during the months of May, June, July, August, September, and October. Counties include Baldwin, Dekalb, Etowah, Jefferson*, Lawrence, Madison, Mobile, Montgomery, Morgan, Russell, Shelby, and Talladega. In an effort to uphold these restrictions, the Alabama Forestry Commission (AFC) does not issue burn permits for miscellaneous burns or for land clearing in these counties in these months. Burn permits may only be issued for: (1) fuel reduction, (2) wildlife, (3) hardwood control, (4) other understory, (5) piled debris (for silvicultural site prep only), (6) scattered debris, and (7) agriculture. For more information contact Lud Hoffmann, ADEM, 334-271-7879.


To assist in meeting regional air quality standards the Alabama Department of Environmental Management (ADEM) implements summer open burning bans from May 1st thru October 31st in twelve Alabama counties: Baldwin, DeKalb, Etowah, Jefferson, Lawrence, Madison, Mobile, Montgomery, Morgan, Shelby, Russell and Talladega Counties.

What is banned? The open burning of untreated wood from construction or demolition and the open burning of vegetation from clearing or maintaining non-agricultural property. “Prescribed burning of agricultural or forestlands for silvicultural, agricultural or wildlife management purposes is allowed under the AFC Burn Permits for these counties.”

For more information contact Lud Hoffmann at (334) 271-7879